You are here

The Dnieper River

 The Dnieper River (ancient Greek - Borysfen) flows in Russia, Belarus (Vitebsk, Mogilev, Gomel regions) and in Ukraine. It is the second in length and basin square after the Volga river. The Dnieper’s length is 2201 km, including 700 km – in Belarus.  

Dubrovno, Orsha, Shklov, Mogilev, Bykhov, Rogachev, Zhlobin, Rechitsa are the Belarusian towns standing on the Dnieper River.
In the pre-war period railway lines were constructed across the Dnieper: Orsha – Krichev line (1923), Krichev – Osipovichi line (1931). Alongside with Orsha, Mogilev and Zhlobin also became railway junctions.
During the most serious period of the Great Patriotic War (1941 - 1945) defensive battles took place on the banks of the Dnieper River. In July – August of 1941 counter-stroke and the Dnieper forcing in the area of Rogachev and Zhlobin were launched. On July 14, from the left bank of the Dnieper, Katyusha multiple rocket delivered a blow of Orsha railway junction; it happened for the first time in the war.  
Within Mogilev city two small rivers fall into the Dnieper – the Dubrovenka and the Debrya. 
If you have found a mistake in the text, please, select it and press Ctrl+Enter.